n.— «Part of a regular quarterly series, the 54-page paper covers the eight Central and East European countries that entered the EU in 2004—the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia—as well as Bulgaria and Romania, which joined the club on January 1st this year. Within this region, referred to as EU8+2, the Baltic states witnessed the strongest growth in 2006.» —“World Bank: Strong growth in EU’s former communist states likely to slow” South European Times Feb. 19, 2007. (source: Double-Tongued Dictionary)

Tagged with →  

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.